I am almost 1/2 of 70

So I finally went to a doctor for a physical yesterday. 

I am officially aging.  I will be 35 years old in a little over 2 months.  Yes.  All I can think about is the math part of it.  I am 1/2 of 70.  25 was a good year; it was the year that I was exactly 1/2 of my mom’s age.  🙂 

I have high blood pressure. 

  •  I am on a low dosage medicine for this. 
  • She also told me to start taking 1 small dosage aspirin a few times a week.
  • I have to cut the sodium out of my diet.  All of the “Lean” Cuisine frozen pizzas I eat for lunch are not working.  I was running around the Fresh Market like a weirdo today reading all the labels. 
  • She wants me to replace my pizza lunch with salad.  Ughs.  Boring.  She suggested I add unsalted sunflower seads, unsalted walnuts, and lots of veggies.  And beans….which I do not eat, but I bought some garbanzo beans to try.  I will try them.
  • What about salad dressing?  That can be the best part.  I noticed that my favorite Fat Free Balsamic Viniagrette dressing had 3 times as much sodium as the regular dressing.  It’s like a catch 22, eh?

My hands.  I know this sounds crazy.  I recently saw a photo of my hands and I realize I have my mother’s hands.  Not a bad thing.  But they aren’t “youthful” looking any more.

Grey hair.  I have had the scary grey hair since i was in my 20s.  But this stuff is going crazy now.  I really need to get it colored once a month.  But it is not cheap, so it ends up being more like every 2 months.  I can’t wait until July 10 to get it done again.

I have big sunglasses that I wear over my regular glasses.  I think they are cool.  Not as cool as Oakleys or anything like that.  But.  Sure makes being out in the sun a lot easier.

I do not like roller coasters any more.  I will ride 2 coasters at Disney World.:  SPace Mountain and Thunder Mountain Railroad.

When we go to the pool, I prefer to NOT get my hair wet.  My mom is the same way and we used to make fun of that.  What comes around goes around…

I do not like driving at night. 

I am sure I will think of many more wonderful things about aging……can’t wait until I am 1/2 of 80.  HaHa…..

7 thoughts on “I am almost 1/2 of 70

  1. HEY be nice!! LOL!! I’m just 6 months from being 1/2 of 80, ha!!

    You’re so cute Michelle…I dig the big sunglasses and I’m SO WITH YOU on the rollercoaster thing..YUCK!

    Have a great week girl!
    Hugs,
    Leslie

  2. My dh and I were having a conversation just last night about how when you are in your 20’s you do everything to avoid being your parents and then when you hit your mid-30’s you wake up one morning and realize that you are your mother! lol!
    I grew up with a low-sodium diet because my mother has high bp and it’s hard for her, but you’ll find a happy medium. Just keep trying new things and keep a positive attitude. 🙂
    BTW, I hope you are applying for the AC DT call… you were the first person I thought of when I saw this call. 🙂
    Take care and good luck with your new foods!
    Rae

  3. thanks for the chuckle and fun perspective on aging….I am definitely noticing way to many gray hairs on my head for my liking

  4. Hey you didn’t tell me about the high bp!

    And I hear you about the aging…. I’ve just decided to embrace my wrinkles! In fact , I think they’re sexy! 😉

Leave a Reply

